The 4th Indiana Jones flick

Indiana Jones did indeed shake the grumpiness off. I loved it and I hated it. I don’t want to be a spoiler. There was lots of great adventuring and overall it was a lot of fun. But there were several cheeseball moments – I think the CGI groundhogs were put in there just to keep Lucas happy (more CGI! more CGI!), and they tried to make links to all the other movies, cute but unnecessary. And they wrapped up some loose ends that didn’t need wrapping up IMHO. But the worst part was the way they explained the archaeological culture – I won’t go into it, but it was such a cop out! And THIS from the man who was recently added to the board of the Archaeological Institute of America, oh Harrison. I was extremely, exTREMEly disappointed with that. I was also mad that they called Peru Mesoamerica, and kept talking about relations to the Mayans, but I was willing to let that slide. There were a lot of little clever archaeological quips throughout the film, but the whole history-of-the-culture-and-their-gods part just ruined the whole experience for me. And I’m going to have to teach about it in EVERY introductory course from now on. Thanks Spielberg.

Enough rant. Overall the thrilling adventure through the Amazon was very entertaining. I didn’t really like the bad-lady, she wasn’t very convincing, but the rest of the characters were great. And there were lots of monkeys, and lots of great fight scenes, along with a phenomenal journey down the Amazon River. Yay Indiana Jones!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

